The Africa Young Innovators for Health Award at the Africa Health Industry Summit 2021

10 February 2021.
By the Award program team

Cyntia Genolet, Associate Director, Africa Engagement, IFPMA and Maelle Ba, Strategic Communications Manager, Speak Up Africa presented the Africa Young Innovators for Health Award at the first edition of the Africa Health Industry Summit 2021 organized by the World Trade Centre, Accra, on 10 February 2021.

Cyntia and Maelle presented the Award to attendees joining from over 20 different African countries and highlighted the opportunity the Award represents, specifically for young health entrepreneurs across the continent who are developing pioneering healthcare innovations that support healthcare workers across Africa.  Cyntia spoke to the opportunity for three award winners to receive up to $40,000 to help bring their healthcare innovation to life, in addition to benefiting from a 3-month business mentorship programme and expert support and advice on intellectual property protection, where they need it.

Maelle, highlighted the theme of the Awards – healthcare workers. She spoke about the doctors, nurses, pharmacists, nursing assistants, community care and social workers who are on the frontline of this pandemic and their integral role in building and maintaining resilient healthcare systems. Maelle outlined that this as one of the reasons why the Award is looking for new, bold ideas that support, equip, protect and train healthcare workers through solutions like training programmes, providing protective equipment or improving the quality of healthcare.

Other speakers at the summit include Sen. Mutahi Kagwe, Cabinet Secretary of the Ministry of Health in Kenya; Theresa Yamson, Chief Executive of Phyto-Riker Pharmaceutical Limited; Dr,. Francis Smart, Director of Policy, Planning and Information at the Ministry of Health and Sanitation in Sierra Leone, among others. The summit was moderated by the General Manager of World Trade Centre, Accra, Edem Yevustey.

Watch the full presentation from 00:59:00 to 1:05:00 here.